Friday, June 15, 2007

Little Lulu

I am a huge fan of the Little Lulu stories by John Stanley (story) and Irving Tripp (art). I feel the best of the Stanley/Tripp stories are just as great as anything Carl Barks did (I also feel the same way about a lot of Jim Davis' Fox & Crow).

If you haven't read these books, you're missing out on a lot. If you like stuff in the vein of Charles Schulz's "Peanuts" or Bill Watterson's "Calvin & Hobbes", you'll like these too. They're pretty cynical and clever. Dark Horse has been doing a fine job reprinting them affordably over the past two years, which is great if you can't afford the original Dell issues or the Little Lulu Library Gladstone put out.

The real point of this post is to ask a question that nobody has been able to answer for me... Do we know how many of the Stanley/Tripp Lulu issues Dark Horse is reprinting? The library sets stopped at issue #87, and they are almost at that point now.

I think a lot of the Famous Lulus are very well-animated and entertaining, but most don't hold up as well as the Stanley/Tripp stories. This one, "Bargain Counter Attack", is one of them though, and one of the best Famous cartoons.

No comments:

Post a Comment